Bahá’ís of Canada Français
National Spiritual Assembly elected by delegates
Members of the National Spiritual Assembly (L-R): Zelalem Bimrew Kasse, Judy Filson, Ciprian Jauca, Deloria Bighorn, Élizabeth Wright, Hoda Farahmandpour, Mehran Anvari, Karen McKye, Gerald Filson.

National Spiritual Assembly elected by delegates

The annual Bahá’í National Convention was held at the Toronto Bahá'í Centre from April 29 – May 2, 2022. This was the first time the gathering could be held since 2019, owing to the conditions of the pandemic.

The National Convention brings together 171 elected delegates from across the country to consult and make recommendations to the National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’ís of Canada, the national governing council of the Bahá’í community.

One of the primary functions of the Convention is to allow the gathered delegates to vote for the nine members who will serve on the National Assembly for the coming year.

The Bahá’í election process gives to each delegate unfettered freedom to vote confidentially for those of his or her own choosing among all the adults of the national community. It is a democratic process that is sacred and dignified, free from nomination or campaigning. 

The following individuals were elected by the delegates at the National Convention to serve as members of the National Spiritual Assembly for the coming year: Mehran Anvari, Deloria Bighorn, Zelalem Bimrew Kasse, Hoda Farahmandpour, Gerald Filson, Judy Filson, Ciprian Jauca, Karen McKye and Élizabeth Wright.